c   c
a

 

Account Deletion E-mail

 

Dear Diary,
Today i did a good deed and i got some funny e-mail. First, the e-mail:

 

Received: from tekhed.com (w171.z208176108.det-mi.dsl.cnc.net
    [208.176.108.171])
        by hormiga.wccnet.org (8.11.4/8.11.3) with SMTP id fA1GvP626308
        for ; Thu, 1 Nov 2001 11:57:26 -0500 (EST)
Received: from computer306 ([152.160.4.42]) by tekhed.com ; Thu,
     01 Nov 2001 12:03:34 -0500
Message-ID: <00bbec684acf93ab1436826aacea74dc3be17f64@atwell-hicks.com>
From: "Shane Harsch" 
To: 
Subject: I appreciate the post but...
Date: Thu, 1 Nov 2001 11:58:08 -0500


Those forums are more of a private thing. I hope you won't be offended,
but I am going to remove your account.
 
Thank you.
 
- Shane Harsch

I was going through my referer logs when i happened upon http://www.tekhed.com/forums/viewtopic.php?topic=78&forum=18&4. I followed the url and found what i thought was a forum discussing wireless networking - they had a link to my site and had raised some questions, so i created an account for myself and answered their questions. A few days later i get the above e-mail, i tell my co-workers at and we proceed to have a jolly good time about it, and eventually the guy password protects his site.

Always a good day when you help someone learn the lack of privacy of the web. Hell, we even found out where this guy lives, a couple places he used to work, and some of his hobbies now. This web thing is a scary place.
Hey, waitaminute- i think you can find out the same info about me online! *shudders*

Update!

Rex found that tekhed is an open relay (!) (as of 11-01-2001) and reported it as such. We're taking care of all his shit!

 

o
 
[ WiFi ] [ Quotes ] [ Store ] [ Propaganda ] [ Other Index ]
[ Art ] [ Code ] [ Personal ] [ Other ] [ Main Index ]
 
r   f