e   e
n

 

Need to Know E-mail

 

If i worked as a sysadmin at a .mil, i'd send out e-mail like this all the time.

 

From hostmast@ops2.nic.mil Thu Aug 23 12:34:35 2001
Received: from ops2.nic.mil (ops2.nic.mil [192.112.38.5])
	by hormiga.wccnet.org (8.11.4/8.11.3) with ESMTP id f7NGYMg06305
	for ; Thu, 23 Aug 2001 12:34:23 -0400 (EDT)
Received: (from hostmast@localhost)
	by ops2.nic.mil (8.9.3+Sun/8.9.1) id MAA29786
	for frisco@blackant.net; Thu, 23 Aug 2001 12:29:15 -0400 (EDT)
From: Hostmaster 
Message-Id: <200108231629.MAA29786@ops2.nic.mil>
Subject: Re: nipr.mil
To: frisco@blackant.net
Date: Thu, 23 Aug 2001 12:29:15 -0400 (EDT)
In-Reply-To:  from "frisco@blackant.net" at Aug 23, 2001 11:17:15 AM
X-Mailer: ELM [version 2.5 PL0]
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Status: RO
X-Status: 
X-Keywords:                 
X-UID: 25910

F ...

You know all you need to know.

hostmaster@nic.mil
>>

> 
> hi,
> 
> i'm curious as to what some domains in the nipr.mil range are, namely
> 
> bu-wcs1-kelly.nipr.mil
> bu-wcs2-kelly.nipr.mil
> bu-wcs3-kelly.nipr.mil
> wcs1.norfolk.nipr.mil
> wcs2.norfolk.nipr.mil
> wcs3.norfolk.nipr.mil
> 
> which i see hit my website with greater frequency.  at first i thought
> these were robots b/c they always request the robots.txt file first, but
> based on other logs i'm betting it's a web proxy of some sort.  is that
> right?
> 
> thanks,
> 
> -f
> http://www.blackant.net/
> 
> 


 

As an aside, i recently read the following in a Scientific American article (Oct 2001, p. 45):

Meanwhile unclassified communications of the U.S. Armed Services go through NIPRNET (Non-Secure Internet Protocol Router Network), which uses public Internet communications.

This seems to indicate that the NIPR in nipr.mil stands for Non-Secure Internet Protocol Router. Puzzle solved?

d
 
[ WiFi ] [ Quotes ] [ Store ] [ Propaganda ] [ Other Index ]
[ Art ] [ Code ] [ Personal ] [ Other ] [ Main Index ]
 
r   f